The History of Middle-earth (HOME)

The History of Middle-earth (HOME)


The purpose of this list is to show which texts have been gathered in The History of Middle-earth, edited and compiled by Christopher Tolkien, and to guide prospective readers to specific volumes where the writings they are interested in can be found.

Within the HOME cycle, there are several sub-series: Volumes One and Two comprise The Book of Lost Tales and contain the earliest versions of J.R.R. Tolkien’s myths, Volumes Six, Seven, Eight and Nine are collectively known as The History of The Lord of the Rings and present the development of that grand tale, Volumes Ten and Eleven contain The Later (post-LOTR) Silmarillion.

Volume Three – The Lays of Beleriand – encompasses the tales of the Children of Hurin and Beren and Luthien in alliterative verse; and some abandoned poetry. Volume Four contains the earliest version of what would become The Silmarillion, and also texts on the cosmology and geography of the World these tales are set in. Volume Five explores the different accounts of the Downfall of Numenor. Volume Twelve provides insights into the development of the LOTR appendices.

1. The Book of Lost Tales Part One

– earliest versions of the myths
– the frame story of Eriol’s voyage to Tol Eressëa
– Middle-earth as Europe’s distant past
– tales from The Music of the Ainur to the Coming of Men

2. The Book of Lost Tales Part Two

– early accounts of:

* Beren and Luthien
* Túrin Turambar
* The Fall of Gondolin
* Nauglamír, the Necklace of the Dwarves
* Eärendil and his voyage

– The History of Eriol or Ælfwine and the End of the Tales (different versions, in some Tol Eressëa is Britain, in others it is a long-forgotten isle to the west, Seven Invasions of Great Britain/Luthany, the Elves leave when the Rumhoth (Romans) invade, Eriol is the father of Hengest and Horsa under whom the Angles, the Saxons and the Jutes settle in England).

3. The Lays of Beleriand

– tales of the Children of Hurn in alliterative verse
– The Lay of Leithian (history of Beren and Luthien)
– abandoned poems: The Flight of the Noldoli, Lay of Eärendel (fragment), The Lay of the Fall of Gondolin

4. The Shaping of Middle-earth

– the earliest version of “Silmarillion”
– The Quenta (second version of what would become Quenta Silmarillion)
– The Horns of Ylmir (the song Tuor wrote for Eärendil his son)
– the first Silmarillion map
– Ambarkanta: The Shape of the World (by the in-universe scholar Rúmil)
– The Earliest Annals of Valinor (from the creation of Arda to the arrival of Fingolfin in Beleriand)
– The Earliest Annals of Beleriand

5. The Lost Road and Other Writings

– The Fall of Númenor and the Lost Road
– The Early History of the Legend
– The Fall of Númenor
– The Lost Road (Amandil & Elendil, Eädwine & Ælfwine, Audoin & Alboin, Edwin and Elwin)
– stories Valinor and Middle-earth from before The Lord of the Rings was written (including The Later Annals of Valinor, The Later Annals of Beleriand, Ainulindalë, The Lhammas, Quenta Silmarillion)

6. The Return of the Shadow (The History of The Lord of the Rings Volume One)

– the evolution of the tale that would become The Lord of the Rings
– additional and abandoned scenes
– notes and outlines providing insights into Tolkien’s writing process
– Volume One explores the development of the story from the beginning till the events in the Mines of Moria)

7. The Treason of Isengard (The History of The Lord of the Rings Volume Two)

– further notes, outlines, and drafts
– original introductions of Galadriel, Treebeard, Éowyn

8. The War of the Ring (The History of The Lord of the Rings Volume Three)

– Part One: The Fall of Saruman (events from The Destruction of Isengard by the Ents to the parley between Gandalf and the traitor Saruman)
– Part Two: The Ring Goes East (events from Frodo and Sam’s meeting with Gollum and their journey to the pass of Cirith Ungol)
– Part Three: Minas Tirith (events of the Siege of Gondor, the Battle of Pelennor the Fields, the Ride of the Rohirrim and the War of the Ring, till Gandalf’s meeting with Sauron’s envoy at the Black Gate)

9. Sauron Defeated (The History of The Lord of the Rings Volume Four)

– Part One: The End of the Third Age; study of the evolution of the story following Sam’s rescue of Frodo at Cirith Ungol, till the End of the Third Age
– original version of the Scouring of the Shire
– unpublished Epilogue
– Part Two: The Notion Club Papers (a story connecting the legends of Numenor to the 20th century Britain)
– Introduction, Foreword and List of Members, The Notion Club Papers Part One, The Notion Club Papers Part Two, earlier versions of these tales
– Part Three: The Drowning of Anadûnê (third version of the Fall of Numenor, the original, the second and the final account of The Drowning of Anadûnê)

10. Morgoth’s Ring (The Later Silmarillion Volume One)

– the post-LOTR versions of The Silmarillion tales
– Ainulindalë
– The Annals of Aman
– The Later Quenta Silmarillion Phase One
– The Later Quenta Silmarillion Phase Two
– Athrabeth Finrod ah Andreth; the discussion between Finrod Felegand of the Elves and Andreth, an mortal woman, on the differences between their two kindreds and their final destinies
– Myths Transformed, Tolkien’s never finished attempt to rewrite the entire tales with some radical changes (origins of the Orcs, the cosmology of Eä, the role of the Two Trees of Valinor, different span of the tales – one Valian Year = 144 solar years, the Round World version of the Silmarillinon, Arda never changes shape etc.)

11. The War of the Jewels (The Later Silmarillion Volume Two)

– second part of the partially rewritten Silmarillion drafts from the 50s
– The Grey Annals (including tales of Beren & Luthien and Turin)
– drafts of The Silmarillion chapters (from the coming of Men to the Ruin of Beleriand)
– The Wanderings of Húrin and Other Writings not forming part of the Quenta Silmarillion (Ælfwine and Dírhaval, Maeglin, Of the Ents and the Eagles, The Tale of Years)
– Quendi and Eldar, lingustic essays on the Elvish tongues, the Elves and their tribes, Cuivienyarna – the legend of the awakening of the Elves)

12. The Peoples of Middle-earth

– evolution of the LOTR appendices
– The Prologue, The Appendix on Languages, The Family Trees, The Calendars
– The History of the Akallabêth (texts A, B, B2 and C); in text A the framing story of Ælfwine the sailor’s meeting with the Eldar scholar Pengolodh is retained, different versions of how Míriel’s marriage to Pharazôn came to be (in one she loved him and yields the Sceptre to him, in another she was already bethrothed to Amandil’s brother Elentir, while in the final she is forced to marry her cousin Pharazôn)
– The Tale of Years and the Second Age (development of Appendix B in LOTR)
– The Heirs of Elendil (on which Appendix A is based)
– The Tale of Years and the Third Age (Appendix B)
– Of Dwarves and Men
– The Shibboleth of Fëanor, a linguistic essay
– The Problem of Ros
– Last Writings (three texts from the final year of Tolkien’s life; Glorfindel, The Five Wizards and Círdan)
– Dangweth Pengoloð, Pengolodh’s teaching to Ælfwine concerning the Elder Days, and their discussions
– Of Lembas
– The New Shadow, a LOTR sequel abandoned after 13 pages, the story is set some 220 years into the Fourth Age
– Tal-Elmar, a tale on the Numenorean colonization of Middle-earth as seen from the eyes of a native

13. Index



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s